Truth Tuesday

 When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying, “I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.” And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.

People swear by someone greater than themselves, and the oath confirms what is said and puts an end to all argument. Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, he confirmed it with an oath. God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope set before us may be greatly encouraged. We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where our forerunner, Jesus, has entered on our behalf. He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.

Yesterday I read Hebrews 6. It was a rough morning. I felt bad, I had a killer migraine, but I pulled my Bible out anyway. Focusing wasn’t the easiest thing. I try and go by verse by verse and reflect on what I am reading so that I can make the most of my time, but it was a challenge yesterday. I felt like I read the words over and over, but nothing settled in my mind or heart, until I came to those bolded words. It is impossible for God to lie.

This is something I have known since I was little. God is good. God hates sin. Lying is a sin. I know that. But when I read it yesterday, it was like I read it for the first time. God doesn’t lie. In other words, there is a reason for my hope. My hope that his word is good and his promises will be fulfilled. They will. Why? Because God doesn’t lie.

Maybe some of you are reading this, rolling your eyes, and saying, “Well, duh.” And honestly, I probably would have, too. Like I said above, I know this and always have! But I read it in a whole new light yesterday.

Let’s just look at some of the promises of the Bible, k? In Hebrews 6, the passage above, it discusses God’s promise to Abraham – that he would be the father of many nations. Abraham had every reason to doubt this promise. He and Sarah were both getting on in their years, and on top of that, Sarah was barren. There was no way she could have a baby. But God doesn’t lie. And Abraham believed him (with patience!), and he became the father of multitudes.  

Jeremiah 29:11 is another promise. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” This is another verse I have read over and over and over again. In my younger days, when asked for my favorite verse, I would say with a smile, “Jeremiah 29:11!” And it is a wonderful verse, but I’ll admit that I never really clung to it. But I can. And I will. Because God doesn’t lie. Life seems pretty crappy sometimes. This week, I have .31 cents to my name until Friday and the only thing in the pantry is green beans. I don’t have transportation until my car gets fixed. I spent a ridiculous amount of money on a text-book I’m going to use for a two-week class (thus the bank account…), and honestly, it doesn’t look like much of a future can come out of a week like this.

But it will. Because God promised, and God doesn’t lie.

What are some promises that you cling to from the Bible? I’m yearning to read more of his truths with this assurance in my heart.

God doesn’t lie y’all. He doesn’t, and that is pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

