Truth Tuesdays

First of all, I got to pick up my car yesterday! I’m still waiting on the title, but I’m overwhelmed and filled to the brim with thanks. The kindness people showed me yesterday baffles me. I know people are good, but yesterday was proof. A new friend offered to drive me to the car, and the former car owner drove around with me for a moment and told me about Sadie (yes, she has a name.) I do need to get something involving the axle repaired, but God provided the car, and that was the biggest answer to prayer. I know he will provide the rest in his timing. My new friend that had driven me there drove behind me on my way home to make sure all was well. I’m just so thankful. I don’t know if there are proper words in the English language to express my joy, but it is there. My cup overfloweth.

Secondly, I thought I would devote Tuesdays to sharing what God is teaching me. I’m gonna be honest for a second, ok? I’m probably the most inconsistent person on earth in doing my quiet time. Joining the blogging community that I am involved with has kicked me in the booty in the most gentle way one can be kicked. 🙂 Seeing the hearts and devotion these women have to the Lord just sparked something in me. It made me so eager to pick up my Bible. I’m not saying I don’t love the Lord! I do – and I hope it shows through me. But I am such a fickle, undserving child of God. He deserves my attention not just when it is convenient for me, but always. Always.

I asked on Facebook and Twitter what a good book of the Bible to dig into would be, and I got some wonderful responses. I love Bible studies and companion books, but sometimes it’s wonderful to just dig into Scripture as is – just the Lord guiding you. I decided to read Hebrews. I know some of the “Key verses” from the chapter, but I’ve never really studied it. I just read Chapter 3 this morning, and I have some pretty cool truths I have stumbled across that I’d like to share.

A brief disclaimer first, though. I am not all-knowledgeable on Scripture! If I have taken something out of context or interpreted something, please call me out on it! I pray for the Lord’s guidance and clarity before I begin my quiet time, but I am human and prone to err. Please, let me know so that my knowledge can be unclouded! These are just my thoughts and reflections on what I have read.

Hebrews 1:3 “He is the radiance of the glory of God, and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power”  Christ is a relfection of God’s glory. Am I this? No. I long to be. I am reminded of the story of Atlas – who had to uphold the world by his own physical strength. Atlas could easily crumble beneath the weight of the world. But Jesus upholds it by the mere power of his word. THIS is what I put my trust in. The Greek word for ‘exact imprint’ is ‘charakter.’ Is my character an exact imprint of God?

Hebrews 2:8 “Now, in putting everything in subjection to him, he left nothing outside of his control. At present, we do not yet see everything in subjection to him.” Everything is within Christ’s control! How encouraging! All that we see and know is in Christ’s control, but so are all the unknowns. All the things we cannot see. The unknowns. The questions. The scary future. Everything. All of it.

Hebrews 2:18 “For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.” Jesus understands my temptations because he was tempted, too. And temptation was not an easy matter for him. The scripture says he suffered temptation, and yet he still remained blameless. He did not give in! THIS is why I can take everything to him with no fear of shame. He is a helper, and he delivers. I am set free!

Hebrews 3:3-4 “For Jesus has been counted worthy of more glory than Moses – as much more glory as the builder of a house has more honor than the house itself. (For every house is built by someone, but the builder of all things is God.” Wow. How often we forget to credit those “behind the scenes” of things we count as magnificent! We walk into a house and say, “What a great house! What a beautiful house! etc.” But do we ever say, “Man, what a wonderful builder this house had!” I know I don’t. Moses here is like that house – pretty awesome and a bearer of the word of God. But Jesus deserves more glory. All of this would be naught without him. When a person does good, yes, they deserve thanks! But doesn’t that mean God deserves thanks all the more? He created it all. He is the “behind the scenes.”

Hebrews 3:6 “And we are his house, indeed, if we hold fast our confidence and boasting in our hope.” Remaining strong in the faith is active. We cannot view it as a passive activity. We must hold tight, we must CLING to our confidence in Christ. He is our life raft. He is the hand that IMMEDIATELY reaches to us when we are sinking. We can BOAST in that hope that we have, that he freely gives us, as our salvation.

Hebrews 3:13 “But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called ‘today’, that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.” We need encouragement and accountability from the body. This is a huge struggle for me. Being open and honest and vulnerable with people is so hard for me. I have a life I’m very open with (blogging and such), but there is a side of me that is very private. I don’t like to share or be held accountable. But I need it. We need it. Once in awhile won’t cut it. The Scripture plainly says ‘every day.’ Why? We are in CONSTANT danger of having our hearts hardened to sin. To being numb to wrong. Encouragement and love from the body keeps us from falling into that trap.

I have gotten up from my quiet time feeling very encouraged and convicted every morning. And yes, it’s ‘easy’ right now with no school or work. Please pray with me and hold me accountable beyond these last two weeks of my summer! To waking up 30 minutes earlier when I teach. To spending time with my Lord when I am tired. To count on him to provide the endurance and energy during the day – because that time with him is precious.

3 thoughts on “Truth Tuesdays

  1. Love that you chose Hebrews! Great book. For me, it’s all about a new covenant. They used to have to go through a man (priest), but for us, Jesus bridged that gap, and we can encounter God directly. Love it. Keep pressing in. It’s awesome that I read this after my post I wrote today. Same mindset. Check it out: http://www.savortheessenceoflife.com/

Leave a Reply

