Weekend Wrap-Up

Guys. I’m tired. Just let me tell you.

Friday was wonderful. I had the day off of work. I attempted to sleep in, but the good ole Circadian Rhythm woke me up around 8, allowing me to eat a good breakfast, read, walk the dog, and get some stuff done around the house before really getting dressed or doing anything. Then, I went on a mission to find some dresses of a length that I can actually, you know, teach in. Most of the time I appreicate being a long-legged girl with semi-decent legs that I don’t mind showing off every now and again. In fact, it’s one of the only things I do like about my figure. That being said, the classroom isn’t – and never will be – the place for that to happen. And most of my dresses fall under the category of ‘too short.’ So I went on a mission… and found one. I feel that this will be a life-long pursuit of the perfect teaching dress for long-legged girls, but one is better than none, right? Plus – it’s cute.

Friday night, I headed down to the Warehouse Theatre to see Fondren Theatre Workshop’s production of See Jane Quit, by local playwright Beth Kander. My buddy Matt was in it, and several of my college friends (who now have all graduated, leaving me behind…) were seeing it that night, too. The play was hilarious, y’all. I hope it starts making its way out of Mississippi and into some other theatres soon, because it’s just a knee-slappin’ good time. Matt was wonderful, as was everyone else. Very worth my money. After the play, Matt and the rest of us went to Fenian’s for drinks and food. It was good to catch up with everyone. I’ve mentioned it before, but it takes some serious nudging to get me to go out. Well they nudged, and I had a great time. My friends are the best. I don’t know what I would do without them.

This morning, I woke up and headed to my college for the same Matt’s graduation. I’m so proud of him. He was the first of all the graduates to get his diploma today. He’s been such a good friend to me – providing me with transportation when I didn’t have a way to get places, he directed me in a play, he’s come to see all my plays, he’s encouraged and supported me, and so I wouldn’t have missed his graduation for the world. Very proud of the person he has become. 🙂 I’m the only one of us left in college. December and my diploma can’t get here quickly enough!

(Molly, me, Lauren, and Trisha supporting our favorite graduate)

(Matt, me, and my friend Drew after they received their diplomas)

This afternoon, I ventured down to New Stage to hear some of the plays in the Eudora Welty New Play Series that were being read today. I had planned on staying to hear both of the plays be read, but I ended up getting an important call and had to leave before the second one. I did stay to hear the first, though, and it was really good. Laughs and smiles and tears, oh my! Jackson is filled to the brim with talent, and I kind of hate that it has taken me this long and this many years of wanting to get out of Jackson to notice.

Tomorrow I plan on going to church and then sleeping. A lot. And reading An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, which I picked up yesterday. Exciting first half of the weekend means I need to have my recharge alone time tomorrow. I have some good things to say in tomorrow’s Positivity Sunday, too, so make sure you stick around for that.

Leave a Reply

