a giveaway + why i act.

First of all, Katie of KATEandKUBY is hosting a wonderful giveaway at her blog. A two for one, really. A beautiful necklace AND a free blog design! This blog sure could use some sprucing up… just saying… Be sure to check her blog out and enter; it’s super easy and there are multiple opportunities to enter!

Secondly, I wanted to write a little bit about acting and why I do it. A lot of people have their passions and hobbies, and theatre happens to be mine. This year marks my 10th year of being involved with acting on the stage. 2003, I made my debut as Bob Cratchitt in a pretty much all girl’s abridged version of A Christmas Carol in the 7th grade. I was hooked.

But why? For a long time I didn’t know why I loved it so much. I am an extremely introverted and shy individual. I was scared to order food at fast food restaurants until I was 14 – true story. I won’t answer the phone if I don’t recognize the number. Talking to anyone I don’t know is pretty much the worst thing on the planet.Most of the time, I’d rather be home with a book or movie, alone, than out with a bunch of people, But there I was, the shy and awkward junior high student walking on a stage in front of hundreds of people, and not a shaky nerve in my body.

(senior year of highschool, i was in a christmas carol again [still mostly girls] as scrooge. that’s me in the middle back. so manly, i know.)

The primary reason I act is because I believe in story-telling. I’m a human, made in the image of God. And who is the best story-teller of all time? Who orchestrated every marvelous and beautiful event that has ever taken place in history? My God did. And I think that by participating in story-telling (whether dance, a book, a song, a play), is a wonderful way to honor that quality of God.

(senior musical, as the witch [after  her transformation] in into the woods)

Acting helps me understand people. As such an introverted person, I do struggle to connect and empathize. It’s not something I am proud of. But theatre has helped change and mold me. You can’t put on another persona up on that stage if you don’t understand the role you are playing. I have played witches, flirtatious women, men, housemaids…. all of which are completely different from myself. And I’ve done it well. And through becoming those characters, I have come to understand those around me. It’s something I am extremely grateful for.

(junior year of high school. wild prairie rose in rogue of the railway. oh, if only my hair could be that long again…)

Theatre has given me a confidence I never thought I could have. I’m good at it. There’s not much I can say I am good at. I love the persistence of learning lines. i love the pressure of having to step on that stage and do it right – no questions asked. I love that I have a voice that can reach people who need to hear what I – or the playwright – has to say. I honestly do not think I would have the confidence to stand in front of a room of students if I didn’t act. It has helped give me confidence in socialization and in my education/career.

Image(two of my sweetest friends. matt, who directed me in tartuffe, and lauren – who i did my first ever college play with – after she directed the night is my enemy. this was march 2012)

(my “big sister”, Trisha, and I after she directed me in A Woman of No Importance)

Most of all, I act because of the community it provides. I have met some of the most wonderful, talented people by being a part of the theatre. I have met my very best and dearest friends because of it. I do not know what I would do without them.

(playing jacques [yes, a man…again] in as you like it in 2012. i was giving the famous ‘all the world’s a stage’ speech here.)

(poppy in noises off! this was june of this summer!)

And we can’t forget that theatre has taught me to cross-dress like a pro… There’s always that.

So there you have it. Why I act, and why it is so near and dear to my heart.

I have another play this weekend – we open tomorrow and I am so excited. If you’re in the Jackson/Brandon area, click this link for more information. We’d love to see you there!

One thought on “a giveaway + why i act.

  1. Pingback: Getting To Know You With MSWB | Soliloquies & Sass

Leave a Reply

