Going Lighter.

I am the kind of person who does things to my hair on a whim. Once I dyed it red myself. I put a blue streak in it. I cut my own bangs. I grow it out. I get sick of it and I chop it off. But it’s been since my Freshman year of highschool that I got any kind of blonde or highlights put in my hair. I’ve been going back and forth about it since last summer, but I knew that this wasn’t something I wanted to do myself. I called around asking for prices, and I honestly felt like I was getting punched in the stomach when I heard the figures. I knew I wanted this, but I wasn’t willing to dish out the big bucks (since I’m so rich!) Finally, I checked in with our local cosmetology school, and the price sounded just right. Armed with a day off and a happy spirit, I made my appointment and couldn’t wait until Friday morning.

My appointment was at 10 AM. I made sure to snap a ‘Before’ picture before heading upstairs.

Image

Nice and brown, right?

Shortly after arriving and filling out some paperwork, I met my stylist, Courtney. She was just about to graduate. Even though it was a school, I felt confident knowing that she was almost out of school. She asked me what I wanted, what my typical hair-care routine was, and so on. I honestly can’t say enough good things about my experience. 

Image

The only thing that some people may not like is the amount of time it took to get done. My appointment was at 10, and I didn’t leave until 2:30. Personally, it didn’t bother me. I had heard from other people who had gotten their hair done there to expect it. The instructors are constantly advising and checking on the students to make sure they are doing everything correctly, so it does add some time. Plus, some of my hair that had fallen out when I was sick is starting to grow back in, and something in those areas on my scalp made it take longer for the product to take. 

When I was done, she trimmed up the ends and thinned my insanely thick hair out. I’m so happy with the way everything turned out, and even happier that it didn’t deplete my wallet. I can’t say that everyone will have a perfect experience at a cosmetology school, but mine was wonderful, and I’ll definitely be going back!

Image

One thought on “Going Lighter.

  1. Pingback: Positivity Sundays | Soliloquies & Sass

Leave a Reply

